Monday, October 31, 2011

Turning over a new (tea) leaf

At work we got one of these fancy schmancy new coffee makers

As of late I've been kicking the coffee and reaching for the tea but look at's sleek, and fancy and glows a pretty blue color so ... I was tempted

"I wonder if I should try out this fancy schmancy new coffee maker?"
" you think it's safe?" -- the wise words of a savior (a.k.a Joshington, a co-worker).

Hrmmmm good question. I really haven't been drinking coffee (and enjoying it) much lately anyway so perhaps I'll have some tea instead.

I opted for some super tasty Celestial Seasonings Black Cherry Berry which, by the way, is very clearly labeled gluten free.
Super tasty and turns out...a VERY smart choice.

While there are some K-Cups that are safe...
Question  Do any of your K-Cup® portion packs contain gluten?
All of the coffees offered in K-Cup® portion packs are gluten and gluten byproduct-free. The Café Escapes French Vanilla Café-au-Lait K-Cup® portion pack contains small amounts of wheat. The Timothy’s Lemon Blueberry Tea K-Cup® portion pack contains malted oats.

For additional nutritional information on a particular K-Cup® portion pack, we suggest you contact the Roaster directly.

I totally would've gone for a nom-licious flavor...and I'm so glad I didn't!

Goblins, Ghouls and Gluten Free nummies!

Trick or treat
smell my feet
gimme something SAFE to eat

Sorry I didn't put it out earlier...but while you're checking your wee one's bags of candy for safe's a go to list!

There are actually A LOT of GF choices in the candy aisle and there's a COMPREHENSIVE LIST here. But I'm sticking with short and simple...and my personal (and my kids') faves :)

PLEASE NOTE: If it's NOT's NOT safe. For example...I LOVE me some Butterfinger and can eat regular ones ...but I cannot eat:

  • Butterfinger Crisp Bar
  • Butterfinger Giant Bar
  • Butterfinger Snackerz
  • Butterfinger Medallions
  • Butterfinger Jingles
  • Butterfinger Hearts
  • Butterfinger Pumpkins

  • According to Nestle, the following candies are gluten-free:
    • Baby Ruth
    • Bit-O-Honey
    • Butterfinger Bar (original flavor only, NOT giant bar)
    • Milk Chocolate
    • Goobers
    • Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
    • Oh Henry!
    • Raisinets (including Cherry, Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
    • Sno-Caps
    • Wonka Pixy Stix
    • Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope and Fruitarts Chews)
    • Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

    According to Mars Chocolate, the following candies are gluten-free:
    • M&M's (all EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M's
    • 3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
    • Milky Way Midnight Bar
    • Milky Way Caramel Bar
    • Dove Chocolate products (all flavors)
    • Snickers Bars (all flavors)
    • Munch Nut Bar

    As of October 2011, the following (short) list of Hershey's products are gluten-free:
    • Hershey's Plain Milk Chocolate Kisses
    • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar, only in the 1.55 oz. size
    • Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar, only in the 1.45 oz. size

    Monday, October 10, 2011

    super snack!

    I don't write as much as I should :(
    I should preface that by saying...August through November is NUTS in our, work, cheer, lacrosse, theater, volunteer commitments and then comes mid November...ahhh :)

    Honestly, I have pics galore, recipes to share and reviews of some fantastic restaurants in the Central Florida area but haven't had a second to put pen to paper (or finger to keyboard as it were).

    But TODAY I had a fantastic snack and just had to while I still have a few minutes left it's EASY.

    Joyva Sesame Tahini (gluten free!)
    Your favorite Raw, Local Honey (mix in to taste)
    Celery sticks

    mmmmmm so good!